Posted by: Jason | September 11, 2009

Food and Classes

Food and Tickets 005

So I’ve had to do some food shopping since I’ve been here and there are a few different stores that you can go to. Galleria Kaufhof is in the city center and that can get a little expensive, but they have a great variety of things to buy. It’s kind of like a Walmart Supercenter because they are a big store with different departments on each floor. Then there are the discount grocery stores like Lidl, Aldi, and Penny Markt. The selection of items may not be as great, but the prices are extremely affordable. There is a Penny Markt right near my dorm, so that’s where I went for my food. The biggest surprise I found was the price for milk. You can buy 1 liter of milk for 0.45 €, which would come out to about a little less than 2 € for a gallon of milk. Even with converting to dollars that’s still less than $3 for a gallon of milk, which I found pretty cheap. Also in the picture you can see some orange juice, salami, German cheese, and some pre-cooked meatballs. One of my suitemates from Finland had gotten the meatballs before and they were really good so I decided to get some for myself. I also bought some pasta sauce and bread while I was there and all that cost me only 8 €. This is also the end of my first week of classes.

I only had four lectures this week and two of them were cancelled because the professor wasn’t in the city. What’s interesting about the University of Mannheim education system is that you usually don’t register for your classes; you just show up and then register for the exam when it comes time to take it. This can cause a problem though if a lot of people want to take a class and there aren’t enough seats in the lecture. This happened to me in one of my exercise courses for International Management and I had to stand, along with 15 other people, for 45 minutes. Also, exams are all short answer and essay questions, no multiple choice. Many of the German students I have talked to have said that these exams are pretty hard, or at least harder than exams in other countries they have studied in. But, they are often exercise and tutorial sections to help you really understand the material. However, attendance isn’t required so it’s up to the student whether they want to attend if they need help.

Responses

  1. I love the photo – brings me back to my own time in Germany. Despite the bad currency conversion rate, the cost of living in Germany is really quite low. Enjoy!


Leave a Reply

Categories

