Posted by: jansen86 | September 27, 2009

Grüße aus Freiburg!

This is now the beginning of my fourth week in Freiburg and so far it has been a blast. Over the past few weeks I have been attending a precession course run by the Sprachlehr Institut here in Freiburg and it’s been very helpful. I have had classes every day during the week for 4 hours in the morning as well as a 1.5 hour Vorlesung in the evening. So I’ve been pretty busy over the last 3 weeks during the week with school, but on the weekends I’ve done a decent amount of traveling. Last weekend I took a train to Basel, Switzerland which was only a 50 minute train ride from Freiburg. Basel was a great city to visit, but just a little too expensive. But I guess it’s expesnive anywhere you go in Switzerland. The day after I went to Basel I decided to take a train to Staufen, which is a small little villiage only 30 minutes outside of Freiburg. The city of Staufen is quite popular because of the story of Faust and the day I went there they had an amazing midievil festival going on. Everyone was dressed up in costume and it felt as if I was thrown back in time or something. Also in the city of Staufen there is a beautiful Castle at the top of a hill surrounded by several wine vinyards. The view was amazing!

This past Friday was my last day of precession class before my university classes begin on the 19th. Yesterday a couple of freinds and I decided to take the train to Triberg, which is nestled in the heart of the black forest and is  home to Germany’s highest waterfall. It tooks us about 2 hours to get there by train but it was very well worth the ride because the view was fantastic. I can’t wait to do some more traveling around Germany before classes start up. A few friends and I are planning on renting a car and going to Munich to the Oktoberfest for a couple of days and then after that visit Neuschwanstein. I’m really looking forward to it. I’ll keep you posted on how the trip goes!

Grüße aus Freiburg,

-Jansen-

Responses

  1. Youre unquestionably correct on this blog!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

