Posted by: Jason | November 10, 2009

International Dinner

A few weeks ago we had an International Dinner, hosted by VISUM and the International Office. Each exchange student needed to prepare a native dish and possibly bring some native drinks for everyone to try. I was trying to think of something that was traditionally American and I have to admit that I had some trouble thinking of what to bring. I didn’t want to make hamburgers (although someone did) because that just seemed too easy. I finally settled on New England Clam Chowder. It seemed to be a good choice too because none of my friends here had even heard of the word “chowder,” let alone New England Clam Chowder. This was my first time ever making it and I must say that it came out a lot better than I expected.

Although it didn’t have that pure white New England Clam Chowder look, it tasted exactly as I remember it tasting. Everyone who tried it enjoyed, at least that’s what they told me so I thought it went well. As for a drink, I decided to bring root beer because I had heard that Europeans didn’t like it too much and I needed to test this for myself. Sure enough, many of them said it tasted like toothpaste or mouthwash. It’s interesting to hear that the Europeans have dental hygiene products that taste like root beer. Some of them on the other hand actually liked it and said that it was a taste they could get used to after drinking it for a while. As for the food from the other countries, I was able to try a lot of good food. I can’t remember the names of all the food and I also wouldn’t try spelling them even if I could remember how they sounded, but there was food from Finland, Canada, Bulgaria, Russia, Colombia, Portugal, France, Australia, Korea, China and a few other countries.

One dessert that was really good was called “fairy bread” from Australia. Apparently it’s a food that is given to children for lunch and it’s bread with sugar and sprinkles on it. One food that I didn’t like very much is a type of Finnish candy. That was called salmiac (not sure about the spelling) and it’s basically salty licorice. I can’t understand why anyone would really like salty candy, but the Finns just kept popping them in their mouths. There was also a huge German table with pretzels, sausages, and this really good lemon dessert. It was kind of like a lemon meringue pie, but I wasn’t able to find out the name of it. I’m really glad that the school hosted an event like this because trying new foods was one of the reasons I wanted to study abroad in the first place. Being able to try foods from so many different countries in one place was a really great opportunity for me.

Leave a Reply

Categories

