Posted by: trierbound | March 7, 2010

Hodgepodge Catch-up post

I had my last class on the 18th. It was good to be done, mainly because I needed the time to write papers. I also went back to the doctor’s that day and was told that everything looked good. I just have to go back once more sometime in May. But apparently the X-ray looked so good and I was breathing so well that he said they wouldn’t need to do another bronchoscopy, which is excellent, because those are not fun.

Since then I’ve been reading and writing and reading and writing. Friday I turned in my first paper, and Tuesday I turn in the second. The paper is done, except for a few formatting formalities, and I may very well turn it in on Monday if I get the chance. I just want to get it out of the way. But I finished the big writing portions last week, and was able to use part of last week and the weekend so far to do some reading for my thesis next year. It’s hard to believe I’m already working on a thesis to graduate from college. I feel like there are lots of things wrong with this. But, it’s here and it’s coming fast.
The other thing I’ve been doing is saying goodbye to friends. Never easy. Never fun. Last Thursday we all got together for a big cooking night/ last night together. It was a lot of fun! I learned how to make Onigiri (Japanese rice balls…except they’re triangles), and tasted a wonderful chocolate cake with pears on the bottom, courtesy of my French friend. We also had Finnish bonbons and Estonian potato salad. And at the end my Italian friend pulled out a surprise: Italian Chocolate!! You know you’ve found good friends when they bring you chocolate from home.
After our feasting, we came back to my apartment and stayed up for a while taking “life pictures”, as my French friend calls candid shots, as well as some posed ones. We spent the last thirty minutes piled on my bed making faces while scrunched together trying to fit in the frame. It felt very friendly, very homey. I liked it.

Last night I was awakened by a crash of thunder and a bolt of lightning that made my entire window turn white. I hadn’t fastened my window all the way earlier, and storm winds had blown it open (fortunately just at the top– yay German windows!!). I got out of bed to close it only to be greeted by another flash of light. This time it became clear. Everything had been turned white, not because of the size of the lightning, but because of the heavy snow that was falling. So there I was, in the middle of the night, standing at my window watching this amazing nature show of lightning, thunder, and snow. The best part? My daughter didn’t wake up and get scared, so I was allowed to go back into my own bed and get to sleep as the storm continued. She woke me up this morning with a “Mommy, mommy, there’s SNOW outside!!” “I know,” I said, “I know.”

I am ready for things to warm up, though. I’m a big fan of the snow…but I’m also a big fan of short sleeves. Also, the high today in my hometown is supposed to be 65 Farenheit (that’s about 18C). Boo. But I’m trying to compensate by finding warm travel spots for the semester break. Semester break!! Finally!! Feel free to correct me, but I think we’re one of the latest schools to get out. Travels are coming soon, though, starting with a couple days in Munich/Salzburg.

Leave a Reply

Categories

