Posted by: jansen86 | April 23, 2010

Traveling Baden-Württemberg & DAAD meeting in Karlsruhe

Hey everyone,

well quite a bit has happened in the last couple of weeks. When I got back from my trip to the U.K. I decided that I wanted to see more of the region of Baden-Württemberg. I had already visited quite a few cities during my time here, but since I had a week to spare before classes started again I wanted to explore the area. The Deutsche Bahn (German Rail) offers a ticket special called the Baden-Württemberg ticket where you can travel anywhere in the state of Baden-Württemberg using the regional trains within 24 hours for only 20 Euros. My German professor back at my University in the States studied 4 years at the University of Tübingen and I heard that it was such a beautiful place to visit. So I decided to make a day trip from Freiburg to Tübingen, which ended up being a great decision. Tübingen, with its cobblestone roads, narrow-stair alleyways, canals and well-maintained traditional half-timbered houses ended up being one of the prettiest cities I had visited in Germany thus far. I would recommend anyone that has the time to go and visit this city.

A few days later I decided to spend a day in Einstein’s birth city as well as the home of the worlds tallest church, Ulm. It was a 4 hour train ride from Freiburg to Ulm, but it was definitely worth the travel. The Ulm cathedral was beautiful inside and only 768 steps later I was at the top looking over the entire city. Later I sat down at a nice restaurant and ordered a traditional schwäbisch meal. It was delicious, but I had a little bit of trouble understanding the waiter because he spoke with a schwäbisch dialect. It’s amazing how many different dialects there are in Germany and how completely different they can sound from high German.

After I got back from Ulm I had to start packing because the next day I was leaving for Karlsruhe to attend the DAAD Scholarship holders meeting. I wasn’t sure what to expect because I wasn’t able to attend the last DAAD meeting, but I ended up having an excellent time and it completely exceeded my expectations. There were so many students from different nationalities in attendance and it was great to get to meet so many people and make new friendships. The DAAD put us up in nice hotels and provided excellent meals for us. It was a really great experience. They also had a day where we were able to attend lectures of other DAAD students so they could present on their research projects and studies. All in all it was a great experience and I got to meet and become friends with so many great people. They even provided a city tour of Karlsruhe, which was nice because I had only ever been to the train station and never the city.

When I got back to Freiburg it was the day before the new summer semester began. I was a little nervous of course because the first days of classes are always a little scary especially when you’re an exchange student in a room full of Germans. But I really liked my professors and the courses seem very interesting. I only have a little of 3 months left and I can’t believe how fast the year has gone by. Nice weather has finally arrived in Freiburg so we’ve been able to barbecue outside and enjoy the sunshine. I really think these last few months are going to be great and I wish the time would just slow down so I don’t have to go back home so soon. Well I’ll keep you updated in

a couple of weeks on my next post. Bis dann!!

-Jansen-

Responses

  1. Karlsruhe is a fantastic city with a great cultural importance. I really loved visiting it and the views near the Rhine are charming.


Leave a Reply

Categories

