Posted by: bfarmer14 | May 2, 2010

Meine Haare stehen zu Berge!

Junior Year in Munich

“Meine Haare stehen zu Berge” actually translates closer to “I am scared out of my mind!” but I love the reference to mountains, so I’ve used it here. Our third week here in Munich was very relaxed, and was a good follow to the rather hectic bustle of the first two weeks. On Monday, all Junior Year in Munich participants received a humorous speech and very informative lecture by the Resident Director, Hans-Peter Soeder – a pipe-smoking, Cornell-graduate, Bavarian, phiolopher-German, and ingenious man who leads the Junior Year in Munich program. He let us in on the extensive history of JYM, which was a surprising and very interesting time for all of us. In total there are about 60 JYMers who are here in Munich for the entire year and the Sommersemester, and about another 20 who were here only the Winterssemester. So, in all, we’ve got a pretty big group.

The role of Junior Year in Munich is to assist students from American univeristy in immatriculating successfully into the LMU Munich, helping the students obtain internships and other academic goals, translating the grades from the LMU for use in U.S. transcripts, and most of all, giving students the support and connection that they need to make their stay and future visits, dreams, and goals regarding Germany a reality. Affiliated since the 1950s with Wayne State University in Detroit, MI,  and originally founded at the dawn of the Second World War in the hope of bridging culture missunderstandings between Germany and the United States, Junior Year in Munich is America’s oldest study abroad program to Germany.

Tegernsee Hike

The next day was off to the Alps….a steeeeep and long hike indeed. I’m a sporty girl – lettering in track and playing basketball during high school, but this was no joke. Yet, half way up the mountain, when Hans-Peter asked who wanted to head back down, I shook my head “no, no, no” and bit the bullet all the way to the top – as I knew a beautiful view would await. And a beautiful view it was! (Roll over each picture for captions)

Needless to say, we all slept very well that night…

First week of study at the LMU

I had a great first week of classes with no series of unfortunate events thankfully. I had stocked up on school supplies a few days prior so I felt prepared. It’s nice to take a break from being sleep-deprived trying to squeeze in a ridiculous amount of course in order to keep to my graduate-in-three-years plan, and have a bit of a breather. The first week I had two interviews for practicums, and the start date should be determined in the next few weeks. My class schedule is as follows:

Monday

11 – 12.30 >> JYM 320 Advanced German Language Niveau C1

Tuesday

8.30-10am >> LMU 17281: Naturkatastrophen und Klimawandel: Naturwissenschaftliche, sozialgeographische, bautechnische und volkswirtschaftliche Aspekte, Vorlesung

[Natural disasters and climate change: scientific, sociogeographic, architectural, and financial aspects]

13.30-16.00 >> JYM 434: Contemporary German Culture: Wie Deutschland wurde, wie es ist

Wednesday

11 – 12.30 >> JYM 320 Advanced German Lanuage Niveau C1

14.00-16.00 >> LMU 12120: Dagegen! Protestformen sozialen Widerstands seit 1945 in München, Proseminar

[Against it! Forms of protest and social resistance movements in Munich since 1945)

No classes on Thursday and Friday!

This free time will be spent at my internship and with the translation job that I’ve found. For my practicum I will have the privilege of working with a school here in Munich that is support by an evangelical organization. The school serves a large number of children of immigrant background, and the supervisor suggested that I would be a good fit for this position – helping the kids with school work and other activities – because I am also a minority who speaks near fluent German and has maintained academic excellence. Such high attention I by no means deserve, but will do my best.

I am also working on the side as a translator, and will be engaging in the daunting task of translated a company’s documents and website from German to English. It is NOT at all easy, but I am sure it will help take my vocabulary to the next level as well as earn me a few extra bucks for graduate school tuition in August! When the website is done, I will put a link on this blog.

When there’s not a heap of translating or projects to do, then travelling is on my list. I’ll surely visit Vienna again, since I have friends who live there, as well Barcelona and perhaps Rosenheim in May, Sweden and Freiburg in June, and northern Germany and Poland in July.

Responses

  1. Bowled over by all you’re doing. Looking forward to hearing about your internship, are you a bit nervous or just interested/curious? The courses will require lots of work, sounds like, let us know how they go!
    Paula

  2. I am bowled over too – definitely having to work quite a bit to stay afloat, but Im finding ample time to travel and work, so its a great combination!

    Integrationspolitik has a dear place in my heart, and I was nervous the first day, but I really feel like this is where I belong – I love every bit. I feel very at home and like I can relate to the kids and actually help them!!! I would have had a great time in a more “formal” atmosphere, like an office or something, but there I would probably get caught up in trying to imitate Germans than feeling comfortable, so this is great!

    The classes are…goodness… difficult. Especially the AGL class and the Sozialprotesten – Im being stretched like crazy with all the Referaten und Hausarbeiten! But what doesn´t kill my German makes it stronger…I guess.


Leave a Reply

Categories

