Posted by: trierbound | June 6, 2010

Six weeks left?!

Yep, you read right. I only have six weeks until I’m stateside.  And in honor of my last six weeks, I am promising to write one blog a week, both about things I’m doing as I finish up my semester and prep for going home, and about my own observations about Germany. And yes, I know I should have been doing this all along. Hindsight: 20/20. But I’ll try to make it up to you guys, and I’ll be posting about re-acclimating to the states as well. Though I can tell you right now that the thing I’ll miss most is pretzel rolls. Ah-mazing.

So, Germany is finally warm. I say that, and now it’ll start freezing again, but I wanted to let people know that it does actually get warm here. The past two days have been in the low 80’s, and this whole week is supposed to be in the 70’s, and most of last week was as well. It feels pretty amazing. And the sun doesn’t set until around 9, 9:30 at night, so this weekend I developed a nice little routine where I tuck my daughter in bed, make a cup of tea, and go out on the balcony to watch the sun set.
The sun also rises at 5 in the morning, which wasn’t so great at first, but now my eyes are used to it and I don’t wake up until around 7 and I wake up to beautiful sunshine. Not a bad way to start the day. It is a little unfortunate when it’s cloudy, though, because my body sees the lack of sun and thinks it’s 4 a.m. and wants to go back to sleep. So, that’s hard sometimes. But in general it’s pretty nice.
My daughter and I have spent a lot of time outside this weekend. We’ve played in the fountain outside the grocery store at midday (the high point of the sun here is around 2), we’ve spent lazy late afternoons picking daisies, and we’ve played soccer in the grassy fields behind our apartments after supper. Both of us have been trying to soak up every second of sun we can manage. She’s also been flourishing in her language abilities. Sometime in April it just clicked. We went away for a few weeks, and it was like that little break made everything come into focus for her. I pick her up from school sometimes, and we speak German all the way until it’s time to get ready for bed. Unfortunately, I usually falter around there because I never learned things like “remember to put your clothes in the hamper”, but it’s very exciting nonetheless.

Tomorrow is back to reality after a wonderful weekend. I’ve got several papers to write in the next month so that they can get graded and given back to me before I leave. My daughter’s birthday is also coming up, which should be really exciting!! In other news, I’m trying to decide which of my books and clothes and things I’m going to part with and which absolutely *have* to be taken back to the states. I feel pretty good about it so far, but it’s also incredibly hard to assess things when I’m not actually trying to put them in the suitcases. We’ll have to see how that goes. Fortunately, all of my daughter’s winter stuff (aside from a hat and a scarf) will get left here because she’s still growing. I’ve made a pile of books to give away or sell or whatever I can do, and I’m sifting through my papers trying to decide what’s *really* worth keeping. I’m normally a huge pack-rat. It’s only in the past two years that I threw away my notes from classes in high school. It’s that bad. But I’m learning out of necessity. Fortunately, a lot of my classes use an online system and put the texts up as PDF files, so I’m cheating by bringing them home on my computer 🙂

And that’s about it from this side of the world. I’ll be tackling research for at least two papers starting tomorrow…and I’ll be back next week!

addendum: if anyone has something they really want me to write about… something about Germany you’re curious about, let me know

Leave a Reply

Categories

